The 2021 Elijah Parish Lovejoy Award of Colby honored eight journalists for their courage and determination while facing intimidation by the U.S. Department of Justice. These journalists from the New York Times, Washington Post, and CNN, were subjected to the U.S. government’s subpoena of phone and email records related to leak investigations. They never wavered from their pursuit of important stories under these circumstances and remained resolute in their commitment to freedom of the press. The 2021 Lovejoy Award winners were Matt Apuzzo ’00, Adam Entous, Adam Goldman, Eric Lichtblau, Greg Miller, Ellen Nakashima, Michael S. Schmidt, and Barbara Starr.

New York Times reporters Matt Apuzzo ’00 and Adam Goldman came to campus to join a conversation with Nancy Barnes, senior vice president and editorial director at NPR and a member of the Lovejoy Award Selection Committee. President Greene offered remarks and presented the awards.